Fifth victory for Bristol East MP Kerry McCarthy

December 13 2019
Fifth victory for Bristol East MP Kerry McCarthy

LABOUR'S Kerry McCarthy has been re-elected as Bristol East's MP, with the city one of the few bright spots for the party in the general election.

The constituency's sitting MP, who has held the seat since 2005, saw her majority reduced by 2,600 but still received well over half of the votes cast on December 12.

All four Bristol seats remained in Labour hands after the vote, despite an electoral pact between the Greens and Liberal Democrats in Bristol West and Tory hopes that the party could regain the Bristol North West seat it lost in 2017.

In Bristol East, which includes Fishponds, Speedwell and Eastville, Labour's share of the vote fell by 7.6% but the 27,717 votes for Ms McCarthy, down from 30,847 in 2017, still represented 53.1% of those cast.

The Tory vote also fell, from 17,453 in 2017 to 16,923 (-1.9%), with the Lib Dem and Green votes rising slightly.

Ms McCarthy said: "I would like to express my sincere thanks to everyone who voted for me to continue as the MP for this area. I really do appreciate it. It was a tough election in many ways but it was the support of people on the doorstep – and in the street, in the shops, everywhere I went – that kept us going.

"The national election result was of course hugely disappointing for Labour. We need to learn from this defeat. I will be part of that conversation, and I am keen to hear from you too. And of course, whether you voted Labour or not, I am here to help you with individual problems, to support the local community, and to speak up for you in Parliament."

Ms McCarthy's nearest challenger, Conservative Sarah Codling, said afterwards: "I’d like to offer my sincere gratitude to every single person in Bristol East who voted for me. It wasn’t to be and I congratulate Kerry on retaining the seat.

"The Prime Minister spoke from Downing Street about the need to heal and it is my abiding hope that we are now able to move on from pro Leave and pro Remain divisions, to become pro Bristol and pro Britain."



Kerry McCarthy (Labour) 27,717

Sarah Codling (Conservative) 16,923

Nicholas Coombes (Liberal Democrat) 3,527

Conan Connolly (Green) 2,106

Tim Page (Brexit Party) 1,881


Total votes 52,154

Turnout 70.8%

(157 rejected ballot papers)